RayMarching SparkSL

So I’ve been learning about raymarching and how it works in SparkSL after an amazing Tomas Spark SL workshop. @Tomas_Pietravallo 's project file is super helpful! Now I’m still learning thru his raymarching project from github and I tried to separate each functions as their own dedicated assets but seems like I’m stuck in a dead end. Is it possible to separate them?
Maybe to separate them to something like this: SDF shapes → SDF Scene → Shading → render.

Why you might ask, I think it’s just for accessibility, for example:

1. to be able to control the transform of each sdf object and light source in it from patch editor.
  2. to be able to change color from patch editor.

Any of you guys have any advice or hint to help me do that?
I’ve tried the export and #import <MyShaderName.sca> but It seems to always give me an error when the exported function requires multiple input.
Can someone give me an example of how to export and import functions that have multiple inputs? Thank you!

Are you defining the exports in the imported files?

export vec4 addition(vec4 color1, vec4 color2) {
  return color1 + color2;
}
#import <addition.sca>
vec4 main(vec4 color1, vec4 color2) {
  return addition(color1, color2);
}

spark-sl-imports.arexport (16.0 KB)

1 Like

thanks Josh! how about the lambda function like this?

is it actually just as easy as defining export in there too?

So the " function<vec4(vec2)> " is just like a texture2d data type but with it we can do math operation with other vec4 or other texture?

is it only " function<vec4(vec2)> " and there is no other type/thing like maybe
" function<float(vec2, vec2, float)> " or " function<vec3(float, float, float)> " ?

and also what if from this example you made, that color1 and color2 in addition.sca is also from different .sca files? and for the color1, it’s actually a texture (named “tex1”) that we want to add with color2? so there are tex1.sca and color2.sca