Smooth lines with Mesh Builder

Hi all! I am learning mesh builder. And I’m really new to this. I also don’t have much skill in JS. I put together a project like this example, but I’m having trouble getting it to be smooth lines and not random triangles. At the bottom of this post there is an explanation of how to make lines smooth. This is a list of changes. Can you help me? i need the full code so i can copy this into scripts. I also need the thickness of these lines to change smoothly. I really hope for your help. Thanks in advance.

Well, here’s the basic version attached to a hand tracker. It’s not super smooth though.

I did try working in that smoothing function, but I couldn’t get it to behave with a continuous stream of points. It does work with the 4 point example they included, so maybe it’s just a matter of tweaking some parameters. You can see the basic one by default. Comment out the doBasic function and comment in the doCurved function to see the current state of that.

snap-curved-mesh-builder.zip (992.3 KB)

3 Likes

Wow thank you so much for taking the time to do this. I have a small question. In your example, the position of the cursor depends on the position of the hand, is it possible to make the cursor be associated with the position of the device? Now if I bring the cursor from the hand tracking to the camera, the lines stop being drawn.

Yeah the cursor’s position is in world space, so it will work if you place the cursor object in the camera. I thought about how to make it smoother last night and came up with this lerp method instead of what the snap admin proposed. It’s pretty smooth!

The only thing that bugs me right now is how the ribbon thickness is handled. It always offsets in the x direction, when it really should be determined by the motion vector. I’ll come back to it when I have more time, but for now, here’s the project.

snap-ribbon-generator.zip (990.7 KB)

2 Likes